Alumni

Mehrdad Abolbashari

Mehrdad Abolbashari

Fall 2013 – Awarded PhD Degree in Optical Science and Engineering
Dissertation: "Compressive Imaging and Dual Moiré Laser Interferometer as Metrology Tools"
Fall 2011 - Awarded MS Degree in Optical Science and Engineering


mabolbas@uncc.edu


Hossein Alisafaee

Hossein Alisafaee

Fall 2014 – Awarded PhD Optical Science and Engineering
Dissertation: "Management of Optical Absorption in Plasmonic Metamaterials"
Grigg 116
704-687-8753
halisafa@uncc.edu


Ken Allen

Kenneth Allen

Fall 2014 – Awarded PhD Degree in Optical Science and Engineering
Dissertation: “Waveguide, Photodetector, and Imaging Applications of Microspherical Photonics”
Spring 2012 - Awarded MS Degree in Applied Physics
Thesis: “Light Focusing & Transport Effects in Mesophotonic Structures”
Current: Research Engineer II Georgia Tech Research Institute Advanced Concepts Lab - Electromagnetics


kenneth.w.allen.jr@gmail.com


Shashanka Ashili

Fall 2007 – Awarded PhD Degree in Optical Science and Engineering Dissertation: “Optical Properties of Polycrystalline Opals and Mesoscopic Systems of Coupled Spherical Cavities”
Current: Postdoctoral Fellow at Arizona State University


sashili@gmail.com


Gelareh Babaie

Gelareh Babaie

Fall 2014 – Awarded PhD in Optical Science and Engineering
Dissertation: "Dynamic range enhancement in digital fringe projection and laser interferometry"
Grigg 305
704-687-8161
gbabaie@uncc.edu


Richard Blackmon

Richard Blackmon

Spring 2013 - Awarded PhD Degree in Optical Science and Engineering
Dissertation: "Thulium Fiber Laser Lithotripsy"
NSF Fastlane Graduate Research Fellowship


rlblackm@gmail.com


Eric Browy

Eric Browy

Fall 2014 – Awarded MS in Optical Science and Engineering
Thesis: “The evaluation of chemical wear on single crystal diamond tools while diamond turning a binary Cu-Ni alloy system”


ecbrowy@uncc.edu


Adam Burand

Adam Burand

Spring 2010 - Awarded MS Degree in Applied Physics
Current: Radiation Safety Specialist, Carolina's Medical Center - Main


AdamBurand@gmail.com


Aaron T. Cannistra

Aaron T. Cannistra

Fall 2011 - Awarded PhD Degree in Optical Science and Engineering


atcannis@uncc.edu


Jason Case

Jason Case

Spring 2015 - Awarded PhD Degree in Optical Science and Engineering
Dissertation: “Selective Heating of Vascular Structures to Create Contrast in Medical Mid-IR Images”
Fall 2012 - Awarded MS Degree in Applied Physics
Thesis: "Using LED sources as Contrast Agents for Mid-IR Imaging in Medicine"
Grigg 352
704-687-8129
jcase12@uncc.edu


Beth Caskey

Beth Caskey

Fall 2012 – MS Optical Science and Engineering


ecaskey@student.uncc.edu


Nian Chen

Nian Chen

Spring 2013 - Awarded MS Degree in Optical Science and Engineering


nchen4@uncc.edu


Ahrar Chowdhury

Ahrar Chowdhury

Spring 2014 - Awarded MS Degree Optical Science and Engineering


achowdh4@uncc.edu


Christopher Cilip

Christopher Cilip

Spring 2012 - Awarded PhD Degree in Optical Science and Engineering
Spring 2011 - Awarded MS Degree in Optical Science and Engineering
Visual Systems Engineer, Carl Zeiss Industrial Metrology


cmcilip@student.uncc.edu


Brian Cripe

Brian Cripe

Fall 2012 – MS Applied Physics
Radiation Safety Officer/Physicist


bcripe@novanthealth.org


Arash Darafsheh

Arash Darafsheh

Spring 2013 - Awarded PhD Degree in Optical Science and Engineering
Dissertation: "Optical super-resolution and periodical focusing effects by dielectric microspheres"
Spring 2011 - Awarded MS Degree in Optical Science and Engineering
NASA LARSS Scholarship and Internship
Current Position Postdoctoral Fellow at the Department of Radiation Oncology of University of Pennsylvania


arash.darafsheh@gmail.com


Adam Dittli

Fall 2012 – MS Optical Science and Engineering
Thesis: "Fabrication and Characterization of Index Anti-Guided Planar Waveguide Laser"
nLIGHT Photonics - Laser Process Development Engineer


asdittli@gmail.com


Michele (Yue) Dong

Michele (Yue) Dong

Fall 2014 – Awarded PhD Degree in Optical Science and Engineering
Dissertation: "Absolute Surface Reconstruction By Slope Metrology And Photogrammetry"
Current: Optical Engineer at Nikon Metrology
Grigg 102
704-687-8155
micheledong@gmail.com


Ritchie Dudley

Ritchie Dudley

Summer 2012 - Awarded MS Degree in Applied Physics
Thesis: "Metamaterials: An overview from theory to practice"


rdudley5@student.uncc.edu


Jennifer Farmer

Spring 2014 - Awarded MS Degree in Applied Physics
Thesis: Maximum Entropy Probability Distribution Estimation


jfarmer6@uncc.edu


Mahsa Farsad

Mahsa Farsad

Spring 2015 – Awarded PhD Degree in Optical Science and Engineering
Dissertation: "Displacement scale based on speckles"
Current Organization: PerkinElmer, Senior Scientist


Mahsa.Farsad@perkinelmer.com


Jason Franchak

Spring 2004 – Awarded MS Degree in Applied Physics Dissertation: “Spectroscopic Studies of Optical Coupling Between Spherical Microresonators”
Current: Orthodox Priest, Holy Trinity Church in Pottstown, Pennsylvania.


jfranchak@hotmail.com


Yalong Gu

Yalong Gu

Fall 2011 - Awarded PhD Degree in Optical Science and Engineering


ygu4@uncc.edu


Ali Haider

Ali Haider

Fall 2012 - Awarded PhD Degree in Optical Science and Engineering
Dissertation: "Scalable high-capacity high-fan-out optical networks for constrained environments"


alihaider1@outlook.com


Thomas Hutchens

Thomas Hutchens

Spring 2013 - Awarded PhD Degree in Optical Science and Engineering
Dissertation: “Novel Fiber Optic Tip Designs and Devices for Laser Surgery”
Spring 2012 - Awarded MS Degree in Optical Science and Engineering


tchutche@uncc.edu


Marc Kankolongo Kabengele

Marc Kankolongo Kabengele

Fall 2013 - Awarded MS in Applied Physics
Thesis: “Myosin recovery stroke detected by intrinsic fluorescence and fluorescence resonance energy transfer”


mkankolo@uncc.edu


Morteza Karami

Spring 2013 - Awarded MS Degree in Optical Science and Engineering
Thesis: "Super-resolution imaging by transport of evanescent waves using metamaterials"


mkarami@student.uncc.edu


Rajesh Kolli

Rajesh Kolli

Spring 2013 – Awarded MS Optical Science and Engineering


rkolli@student.uncc.edu


Bahadir Kucukgok

Bahadir Kucukgok

Graduate Student – MS Optical Science and Engineering
Grigg 232
704-687-5670
bkucukgo@uncc.edu


Nicholas Kudsieh

Nicholas Kudsieh

Graduate Student – PhD Optical Science and Engineering
Grigg 354
704-687-8154
nkudsieh@uncc.edu


Yangcheng Li

Yangcheng Li

Graduate Student – PhD Optical Science and Engineering
Fall 2012 - Awarded MS Degree in Optical Science and Engineering
Grigg 349
704-687-8297
yli63@uncc.edu


Ying Li

Ying Li

Fall 2013 - Awarded PhD Degree in Optical Science and Engineering
Dissertation: “InGaN/GaN Multiple Quantum Well Structures:  Structural, Optical, Electrical, and Chemical Properties”


yli55@uncc.edu


Henan Liu

Henan Liu

Graduate Student – PhD Optical Science and Engineering
Grigg 167
704-687-5667
hliu27@uncc.edu


Tim Mode

Timothy Mode

Fall 2016 - Awarded MS in Applied Physics
Thesis: "Spatially Resolved Photoluminescence Lifetime Mapping in the Vicinity of Extended Defects in Semiconductors Using a Time Correlated Single Photon Counting System and Confocal Photoluminescence Microscopy"


tsmode@uncc.edu


Aaron Pung

Aaron Pung

Fall 2011 - Awarded MS Degree in Optical Science and Engineering


aaron.pung@gmail.com


Jason Roberts

Jason Roberts

Spring 2012 - Awarded MS Degree in Applied Physics
Thesis:"Optimization of Microwave Enhancement in Periodic Meida"


jrobe121@gmail.com


Sarah Rosenbury

Sarah Rosenbury

Spring 2012 - Awarded MS Degree in Optical Science and Engineering


sbgray@uncc.edu


Alexander Rosenthal

Alexander Rosenthal

Spring 2014 - Awarded MS Degree in Applied Physics
Grigg 242

arosent2@uncc.edu


Zachary Roth

Zachary Roth

Summer 2012 - Awarded PhD Degree in Optical Science and Engineering
Dissertation: "Space variant guided mode resonance filters"


zacharyroth@alumni.rose-hulman.edu


Tao Sheng

Tao Sheng

Graduate Student – PhD Optical Science and Engineering
Duke 371

tsheng@uncc.edu


Wattaka Sitaputra

Wattaka Sitaputra

Fall 2012 – Awarded PhD Degree in Optical Science and Engineering
Dissertation: "Electron Mobility at Gd2O3(100)/Si(100) Interface: Origin and Applications"
Spring 2012 - Awarded MS Degree in Optical Science and Engineering
Research Associate at Carnegie Mellon University


akattaw@gmail.com


Paul J. Smilie

Paul J. Smilie

Fall 2011 - Awarded MS Degree in Applied Physics


pjsmilie@uncc.edu


Gedion Teklewolde

Gedion Teklewolde

2nd Summer 2014 - Awarded MS Degree in Applied Physics
Thesis: Application of a Continuous Markov Chain to Model the Nuclear Decay Switching Mechanism for Stellar Production of Zirconium, Niobium and Molybdenum


gwteklew@uncc.edu


Serhat Tozburun

Serhat Tozburun

Spring 2012 - Awarded PhD Degree in Optical Science and Engineering
SPIE Scholarship in Optics and Photonics


stozburu@student.uncc.edu


Geoffrey Tuttle

Geoffrey Tuttle

Spring 2016 - Awarded MS Degree in Optical Science and Engineering
Thesis: "3D Printing of Metamaterials with Conductive Elements"
Advisor: Dr. Michael A. Fiddy


gtuttle1@uncc.edu


Veysel Unsur

Veysel Unsur

Summer 2013 – Awarded MS Degree in Applied Physics
Thesis: “Understanding the Solar Cell Contact Formation by Digital Inkjet Printing Technique”


vunsur@student.uncc.edu


Chaofan Wang

Chaofan Wang

Spring 2012 - Awarded MS Degree in Optical Science and Engineering


chaofan.wang1989@gmail.com


Seungmoo Yang

Spring 2009- Awarded PhD Degree in Optical Science and Engineering Dissertation: “Spectroscopic Study of Optical Confinement and Transport Effects in Coupled Microspheres and Pillar Cavities”
Current: Postdoctoral Fellow at Northwestern University


woondongyang@gmail.com


Yigit Ozan Yilmaz

Yigit Ozan Yilmaz

Spring 2012 - Awarded PhD Degree in Optical Science and Engineering


ypyilmaz@student.uncc.edu


Lei Zhao

Lei Zhao

Fall 2011 - Awarded MS Degree in Optical Science and Engineering


lzhao9@uncc.edu


Benrui Zheng

Benrui Zheng

Fall 2013 - Awarded PhD Degree in Optical Science and Engineering
Dissertation: "Positioning Sensor by Combining Optical Projection and Photogrammetry"
Fall 2011 - Awarded MS Degree in Optical Science and Engineering


bzheng@student.uncc.edu


Yue Zhou

Yue Zhou

Spring 2014 - Awarded PhD Degree in Optical Science and Engineering
Dissertation: Calibrating Slope-Dependent Errors in Profilometry
Spring 2011 - Awarded MS Degree in Optical Science and Engineering
Current: Metrology Engineer at Corning zhouy5@corning.com
Grigg 105
704-687-8155
yzhou15@uncc.edu